Rating: , Posted by Larry K on Sep 05, 2011
I contacted White Glove for my move from NJ to NC. Initial price was good. The salesman Rick spent about 1 hr going over the items to be moved. He failed to include the headboard and footboard for the bed and we were charged extra on moving day. He also failed to explain the way they handle the move. We did not know until when the movers arrived that our belongings were loaded at our home and then unloaded at a warehouse. It would then be loaded again to a 50 foot tractor trailer to be delivered to NC. Since a truck that large would not fit down the streets in our development the trailer would be unloaded and reloaded to a smaller truck at an additional charge of course. We also were never told that the quoted price was for cash only and that if we wanted to use a credit card it was an additional 3%. Overall the men who loaded the truck in NJ and unloaded in NC did a fine job. What bothered me was the salesmanship when we were given the quote. So instead of paying $2300 the move ended up costing us just below $3000.
I would definitely not recommend White Glove Movers and have told my realtor to stop recommending them too.
Quote or Order ID: 2300
Movers Cost: 2900.00 USD
Origin pickup Country: USA
Origin pickup State: New Jersey
See all New Jersey movers
Picked up: On time
Destination drop off Country: USA
Destination drop off State: North Carolina
See all movers in North Carolina
Delivery: On time
Primary contact person (Salesman): Rick
Secondary contact person:
Dirty Items: No
Stolen Items: No
Damaged Items: No
Official company response to Larry K's review:
I am sorry that you did not have a stellar move, but according to this it seems like you were not clear on a couple of items. First we do not charge 3% more if someone wants to use a credit card. What we told you and it is also reflected in the paper work is your quote would be 3% LESS if you paid by certified check/bank check. The $2700 would be reduced $81 if payment was in certified check/bank check. Regarding the additional $250.00, we made an attempt to deliver in our long distance truck but as we both now know there is no access. Thus we had to rent a smaller truck, transfer the shipment and deliver accordingly. All of this is written in your paperwork but it IS the salespersons responsibilty to inform the client of potential extra charges. After speaking with you I wholeheartedly believe you were not informed. I am sorry, myself and the saleperson had a very serious conversation regarding clarity and disclosure. On a positive note I heard at delivery everything went very well and there were no damages. In closing I wish you and your family good luck in your new home and if there is anything I can do please do call.
Ask Larry K about the moving services of White Glove Moving. Larry K is a customer of the business and is willing to be used as a reference. Please use this form to contact this customer for reference purposes only.